This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.
Book Now

Reviews

7.9 Review Score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
7.8
Comfort
7.3
Property Location
8.4
Facilities
7.6
Staff
8.6
Value
8.0
Reviews
    Loreen
    us
    9.5
    January 19, 2018
    The breakfast was excellent and cheap! Cute,cozy, and cheap.
    Moira
    ca
    5.4
    January 18, 2018
    The room was shabby and not clean. The receptionist had to sweep and mop it while I was there. There was no bath mat. I had to use a pillow slip to stand on. When I removed that from the pillow, the pillow inside it was stained and dirty. The taxi driver from the bus station seriously cheated me and charged me 5000 colones for porobably a 2500 short ride.
    The receptionist was excellent. Very helpful with all problems and arranging ongoing transport.
    us
    9.2
    January 9, 2018
    We were late, and hungry - and the staff was exceedingly kind, and accommodating, not only receiving us graciously, but advising us as to where we could still dine, and then accommodating our even later post-late-dinner return. Very warm and gracious hosts in a beautiful older villa in a hip, vibrant part of the city. I'm looking forward to staying there again!
    Jennifer
    us
    10
    November 27, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    cr
    7.5
    September 11, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Marcos
    pa
    8.3
    September 5, 2017
    Elegant and old place nice internal gardens
    I booked my room, and when showed up, the person who was at front desk told me they didn't have room a available room as i chose. However he very nice person, kind and friendly.
    Close to barrio escalante, close of a lot of bars and restautants
    Jerry
    us
    8.3
    August 22, 2017
    Friendly comfortable lodging in Barrio Escalante at a nice price.
    Aside from the restaurants, there's not a lot nearby, or within safe walking distance at night. There's a train line a block or so north of the hotel, so the horn-blowing morning trains won't let you sleep much past 6:30 AM weekdays.
    Staff was extraordinarily friendly, and though simple, the hotel was nicely decorated and welcoming. Great location for "foodies" -- just around the corner from many good (slightly upscale) restaurants on Calle 33. There seems to be several theaters (live and cinema) not too far away. The room was simple but very clean; plenty of hot water.
    us
    7.9
    August 8, 2017
    Choo choo!!
    The train was too noisy! Hard to find.
    Clean and friendly staff
    Kevin
    cr
    7.5
    July 31, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Maritza
    us
    10
    July 24, 2017
    Everything was okay.
    Excellent eggs and coffee
    Chris
    gb
    7.1
    July 8, 2017
    Overall satisfactory hotel on a budget
    Train line behind hotel and VERY loud (Horn) and constant (Every 2 mins), Swarm of insects in our room because unable to close window fully in bathroom. Don't speak very good English so be prepared to learn some Spanish. Request a taxi from the airport to the hotel once arriving and it was a no show because they had booked it incorrectly on the wrong date. They didn't pick up their phone at all which was worrying in a new country and failed to even cancel the wrong taxi they had booked which lead to some confusion later on.
    Good price, staff were quite friendly and they made a attempt to understand us. The communal spaces are pretty, breakfast was included. Good Wifi signal and speed. Rooms were a reasonable size. Good overall budget hotel.
    Marilizz
    us
    5.4
    May 6, 2017
    Central San Jose
    Place could use some sprucing up...
    Central location, close to all major routes
    Jerry
    us
    8.3
    February 5, 2017
    Great Location, good facility and Great Staff!!!
    OF Course, being a spoiled American, I would have preferred a better shower, BUT, it would never prevent me from returning!!!!
    The location is excellent for us, the staff is very very good, and the facilities are good. we personally like the small family owned hotels when we travel and this one ranks very high on our list. We have stayed here before, travel a lot internationally, AND, will come back.
    George
    us
    7.5
    February 4, 2017
    authentic san jose
    Trains constantly going by and horn blowing.
    Staff at hotel were very nice and professional,took care of my needs .asmed them to take cre of small issus,resolved quicky with great attitude.
    Wendy
    us
    8.8
    January 16, 2017
    The train runs very close to the hotel so it can be noisy throughout the day. It does stop about 9pm so you won't hear it throughout the night.
    Perfect if you are looking for a clean no frills place to sleep for the night. Loved the area. Perfect if you don't have a vehicle, short walking distance to food, nightlife, and grocery. The staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and assist with questions and transportation needs.
    us
    6.2
    December 25, 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Randall Ivan
    at
    9.2
    September 19, 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jenny
    cr
    9.2
    August 9, 2016
    Great Location and quiet
    Breakfast (typical) wasn't good, tastless, but it is only 3$ dollars so that's OK
    Great value for your money, clean, nice staff, quiet, location is awesome as it is close to everything and in one of the most beautiful neighborhoods of San Jose.
    GEMA
    mx
    5.0
    August 1, 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Filiberto
    us
    10
    June 26, 2016
    Staff pretty friendly
Loading reviews...
Close